Quantcast
Money is tight - Suggestions for gear downgrade? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Money is tight - Suggestions for gear downgrade?
Old 26th January 2009
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
Question Money is tight - Suggestions for gear downgrade?

Can you folks help with an equipment downgrade decision?

I’m an enthusiast composer and mixer - and I have a hybrid setup that works for me. However, money is tight, and I’m looking at liquidating some of my gear if I can find approximate low-end substitutions.

I’d like to describe the pieces below - my usage - and am hoping for suggestions. This is analog gear that I use to process ITB submixes sent out-of-the-box. The music ranges from electronic pop to action-adventure soundtracks:

EL7 FATSO - Mainly mix buss; use of tranny, warmth, and overall drive depending on the program material (not as much use of the compressor)

RND Portico 5043 Compressor - Mainly on a submixes (MB multi-buss style) when I want various rhythmic elements to gel and coalesce; I very much like the lows and dynamic “rounding” of the highs when compressing a couple of db with low ratios.

RND Portico 5042 Tape Emulator - Again on a submix; either pushing anything with a ton of lows for the harmonic generation; or pushing overly bright material in that I would like to have a prominent high mid presence.

SPL Stereo Vitalizer MK2-T - Also on a submix; often background submixes that could benefit from being wide; I’m sometimes really happy sending bass elements that need to be more present, but I do not want the dense harmonics generated by the 5042 or Waves RBass.

SPL Phonitor - I love head-phone monitoring through these; I do not think it replaces speakers; but composing and detail mixing is a pleasure.

So, given all of the above, any approximate low-end substitutions?! Huge Thanks.
Old 26th January 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by vo1k1 ➡️