Quantcast
Heil PR-30/PR-40 vs. SM7 for rock vox/guitar? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Heil PR-30/PR-40 vs. SM7 for rock vox/guitar?
Old 26th January 2008
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Heil PR-30/PR-40 vs. SM7 for rock vox/guitar?

Hi all,

I'm a solo artist, and I write & record rock/pop (radiohead, U2, Coldplay, Live). I have a pretty good studio running with the following mics:

M-audio Sputnik (vox - male)
sm57 (guitar cab)
sm 58 (vox)
MXL 603 pair (ac guit)

I'm interested in getting a large dynamic mic for some variety with the vocal and guitar cab. I'm considering the Heil PR-30 or the PR-40 because of the price and good reviews. ...But I'm also considering the notorious SM7.

Any thoughts on which of the Heil mics would do the best job on male vox/elec guitar or how they would stack up against the SM7 for those roles?

Thanks for any advice!

TCW
Old 26th January 2008
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 15 years

For rock and roll style electric guitars, you probably won't find a better mic than the PR30.

I haven't had the PR40 long enough to say, but there is a lot fo people that like it on vocals. I had good results on vocals with the PR30, but all the singers were strong (IE vocal soloist without reinforcement type singers).

The SM7, seems to be liked by a lot of folks for pop vocalists (where they often couldn't sing a solo for a choir without a mic).

But, since guitar amps are on the menu, I'd steer you towards the PR30 - If you don't like it, you can probably get most of you money back selling it off.

-tINY

Old 26th January 2008 | Show parent
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Quote:
pop vocalists (where they often couldn't sing a solo for a choir without a mic)
I have fairly strong voice, but most of my stuff is low to medium strength in terms of vocal loudness.

Do the SM7 and the Heil mics have a similar sound?
Old 26th January 2008 | Show parent
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 15 years