The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Studio monitors for VO - in a window bay
Old 5th February 2021
Here for the gear

Studio monitors for VO - in a window bay

Hi, been trawling these forums for a couple weeks now and have picked up loads to help me zero in on some new studio monitors. Now looking for some use-specific tips to make a final selection.

I'm a voiceover artist and don't make or mix music. There's a chance I need to add music or SFX to a recording occasionally, but I wouldn't be the one mixing the music itself. The room I work in is very multi-use as well, so as much as I'd love to have a highly capable and acoustically optimised mixing station, once we go beyond the basic range of spoken voice frequencies I likely have other priorities.

So I've been looking at 5"(ish) monitors, particularly ones where users/reviewers have praised their mid-range definition. I really need to hear mouth clicks, breaths, plosives, etc. and the Mackie CR4 monitors I've got don't give me any detail at all really - as far as I can tell, they're just a heavy set of computer speakers. I've been doing all my editing on headphones instead. Time for a modest upgrade.

Have narrowed it down to:
  • Yamaha HS5 - seems like maybe the most detailed?
  • JBL LSR305 - cheapest of the bunch in the UK right now and well-loved by many
  • KRK RP5 G4 - I know folk slate the older versions, but I still see a lot of VO artists using them. Is that because they're detailed in vocal frequencies or just because they're trendy?
  • Kali LP6 - Seem like incredible VFM and also well-loved

No opportunity to A/B demo due to the pandemic, and I'm not sure it would make that much difference given my usage anyway.