Quantcast
Do-It-All Drumming Setup - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Do-It-All Drumming Setup
Old 24th December 2006
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Do-It-All Drumming Setup

im primarily a drummer, and i've dabbled a lot with recording. but now i'm taking things seriously, and i'm looking to get a good start. i'm going to be pursuing a certification in recording, and while i'm learning, i want to have equipment to learn on. hence, i'm building the home studio.

i figured, since the drumset has a broad range of frequencies, from bass to treble, the equipment needed to mic a drumset (including mics, preamps, etc.) can be reused to mic almost everything else (ie. vocals, guitars, pianos, machine guns). so i'm working from this assumption (please correct me if i'm wrong). oh yeah, i'm going apple logic, not pro tools. the reason why isn't too important for now.

this is what i already have: the mac, the drumset, and some SM58s.
this is what i need: everything else to record the drumset at professional quality, with around 5k to spend.

what i'm looking for is advice on whether the equipment needed for drums really covers a lot of the bases for recording other things. so i'm looking for versatile, multi-purpose equipment that has really good value and is professional quality.

my shopping list begins with this:

Apple Logic
Apogee Ensemble (audio interface) (used)
Presonus FaderPort (controller for Apple Logic) (used)
Sony MDR-7506 (used)
3x SM58 (with isolation foam to imitate sm57 for the toms)

Notice how I have no preamp choices, and very few mic choices. I'd really like input on this. Also, I don't have monitors. I've also learned from this forum that it's best to drop big bux on the stuff that I'll never grow out of (ie. great mics/preamps), and it's better to have one pristine, stereo recording path than 8 mediocre ones. Of course, that might be hard since drums require a bunch of channels right off the bat. Any ideas? Alright, hit me (and thanks in advance)!