Quantcast
Preamping an amp - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Preamping an amp
Old 26th February 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Preamping an amp

I have a little solid state practice amp from the 80s that has the craziest tone ever. I have lots of 'high end' amplifiers but for whatever reason I love the sound I get out of this one and would like to use it in one of my bands. The issue I'll have is playing at venues with no sound system (other that vocals). How would I go about amplifying this signal, if possible? I have limited knowledge, but would a preamp into a larger cab work?
Old 26th February 2014
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
If your practice amp has a preamp output, you can run that into the power-amp in on a larger amp combo.
Old 27th February 2014
Deleted 2d43ac6
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilliam ➡️
I have a little solid state practice amp from the 80s that has the craziest tone ever. I have lots of 'high end' amplifiers but for whatever reason I love the sound I get out of this one and would like to use it in one of my bands. The issue I'll have is playing at venues with no sound system (other that vocals). How would I go about amplifying this signal, if possible? I have limited knowledge, but would a preamp into a larger cab work?
Surely if a venue has an input for vocals, they`ll have at least one more input available to patch your signal into??
Old 2nd March 2014

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
Are your sure that the tone is all that without the speaker? I would put a mic in front of the speaker ... there are DI boxes that can connect across the speaker terminals and drop the level down to mic level. The Radial JDI is a classic, but there are a few others that have Speaker level input. However - they don't replace the speaker, so it's still going to be heard.