Harsh nasty sounding highs in vocals - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Harsh nasty sounding highs in vocals
Old 30th January 2013
Lives for gear

6 Reviews written
🎧 5 years
Harsh nasty sounding highs in vocals

I've occasionally been doing sound at a bar and I've noticed that the vocals are always sounding very nasty in the high end, like someones is stabbing you in the ears. So I'm always forced to to drastic eq cuts above 10K and at about 2-3k which doesnt sound bad but reduces some definition in the vocal.

The place is somewhat small has alot of wood (walls, tables, ceiling, etc)

I'm also using a Midas Venice 240 for my board w/ a couple of dbx comps.

I mainly do studio work so im a bit new to the live sound world. Any suggestions?
Old 30th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Curious what kind of vocal mics are you using typically there?
Old 31st January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Vocals will sound harsh in the 4k-6k region. If the mic or speakers are 'peaky' around there, then you might need a tad more EQ cut to ease it
Old 31st January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
When you say you have a Midas Venice 240 for my board w/ a couple of dbx comps, do you mean you don't have a FOH EQ?
Old 31st January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
More information will be helpful to others to diagnose your issue:

- Speakers in the bar - brand, how they're set up (on stage, on stands, hanging from ceiling)
- What processing/EQ is available between the Midas and speakers
- Size of bar - when you say small, it's hard to guess what is small in different parts of the country. What you may consider small may be cavernous compared to the venues we've played.
- Kind of music
- How much of the band is going through the PA (just vocals, full band, etc).
Old 31st January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cover'd ➑️