Live Backing Tracks - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Live Backing Tracks
Old 30th January 2013
Here for the gear

๐ŸŽง 5 years
Live Backing Tracks

Hey Sluts,

I'm playing a medium sized venue (about the size of a movie theater) next friday, but as a solo artist, I need to play along to the backing tracks of my songs. I'm playing acoustic guitar and singing live. I want the backing tracks include everything else (drums, synths, piano, etc.). I can easily go into my Logic projects and bounce stems of these parts to tailor to the venue during soundcheck... or I could mute my vocals + guitar parts and bounce the output bus. The PA is in stereo, so I can have stereo backing tracks.

My question is which do you think is better?
-Have one track with my live parts muted (less chance for crashing)
or
-Have a few stems which I can mix during soundcheck (tailored to the room a bit)

I could eq the first option for minor frequency things, but I won't have control over the balance. Either option is coming out of my Duet II, so I can only send out the L/R mix to the sound guy. If I had more outputs, the person mixing could control all stems individually, but I have to work with what I have.

Also, I've been reading that a lot of bands split stereo using L-mono R-click which (correct me if I'm wrong) I think is unnecessary in my case since it's just me playing along to some music. I don't have to keep a whole band together, just me.

Any advice is appreciated!
Old 30th January 2013
are there any bits of your songs where nothing would be playing in the backing track? like where it breaks down to just your acoustic guitar and voice? if so then you may need a click track so you dont drift in these gaps. if you feel that you can keep time with the backing track as it is then you dont need a click