Thanking the sound guy publicly - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Thanking the sound guy publicly
Old 29th January 2013
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
Thanking the sound guy publicly

I do sound around town for a lot of amateur/semi-pro bands, and I want to ask others how they feel about something that I've got an opinion on.

I don't make a big deal about it, but I'd rather that bands didn't thank me during their set, on microphone.

I do appreciate a personal thank-you after the set, and maybe some chit-chat if we've got a rapport.

But the public thanking makes me cringe a little. As a technician I'd rather be an invisible part of the show. The audience didn't come to see me, and the less attention I draw the better!

Anyway, when it happens I smile and maybe give a bit of a wave.

Do others feel this way?

Are any of you offended if you aren't thanked?
Old 29th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
I'm not fussed either way personally.

Some artists do it at the end of a gig publicly, some do it personally. Most venues I work at, I'm hardly closeted away in a little booth that punters can't see, I'm generally pretty visible, so bands pointing me out doesn't really phase me.

If they were giving my full name, phone number, and date if birth, then I'd probably be a little more concerned.
Old 29th January 2013
Lives for gear

90 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
IMO there's room for a range of opinion - from 'the sound guy is invisible' to 'the sound guy is part of the performance' - depending on the gig and circumstances.

Personally I like to get some feedback after a gig so that's probably more important than a thank you. I don't mind a mention but prefer to remain out of the spotlight.
Old 29th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years