Quantcast
Best quality portable PA for travelling electronic musician. - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Best quality portable PA for travelling electronic musician.
Old 27th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years

Hello all,

I'm at a quandary.

I am an electronic/singer songwriting musician. I cue samples much like a DJ, but also trigger samples. Everything including my vocals is going through my computer and out via my Duet (even for live). I want the quality of sound to be very exact with a nice low end.

I'm looking for a portable PA system that's going to have enough bass (I can't afford a sub at this stage) to play to around 100 people, sometimes a little more. I would like it to be portable - as in, I can shove them in a car and off I go.

I'm looking at the Turbosound Milan MI5. This would usually be out of my price range, but I have a friend of a friend that's selling a pair for just above Β£1100. Would you say this is a fair price for these? Are these even practical for my purpose? The friend lives quite a way away so I won't be able to hear them for a bit. I want to know if it's worth making the trip.

Are there any alternatives that won't break the bank? I'm looking to spend about Β£1k. Something tells me this might be overkill for the amount of people I am playing to.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Old 27th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Over there I'd also look at RCF (maybe their NX series) and FBT to see what they have in your price range. I'd buy used as your budget will go further. Powered 12's will still be punchy for bass, although not as much as with a sub. You'd have to decide with your own program music if 12's work for you vs. 15's. I like my QSCs but don't know about their pricing/availability in Europe.
Old 27th January 2013
Gear Head

🎧 5 years