Quantcast
Handling harshness & retro RMS on full dj mix live - multiband comp? de-ess? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Handling harshness & retro RMS on full dj mix live - multiband comp? de-ess?
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Handling harshness & retro RMS on full dj mix live - multiband comp? de-ess?

Hello all and hoping someone with more experience can point me in some cool directions with the below! Thanks in advance!

To head off "why don't you do this instead" stuff, I will start by saying I am a professional DJ & video DJ and do "general audience top 40" type stuff. I do use hifi, uncompressed files when able, but music video files & certain mashups & remixes are mp3-only. The turnaround for top 40 is too quick and my customers are too fickle to dj/vj exclusively high fidelity content, though believe me, I wish I had access to everything in hifi. The clubs and bars themselves are NOT audiophiles and are not going to help pay for rackmount units aside from dbx speaker protector type stuff, and I don't have access to that necessarily, OR I don't want to touch it because other DJs work in the same spaces.

I therefore just have to deal with the badness of mp3 & mp4 files.

I also DJ retro & current music, often side-by-side. Equalizing and maintaining perceived levels is extremely difficult, given new music having very high RMS levels and older music having oftentimes too much dynamic range where all you can hear is the kick and the snare and the harmonic content is too low in volume and gets eaten up by ambient room noise, audience, loud air conditioning, etc.

So I was doing this convoluted setup where I was essentially running my dj mix through master effects using a UA apollo setup and a de-esser set to the harshness zone of 3-8Khz, and some saturation /limiting /compressing so I can push retro music up into it to get the RMS hotter, but leave the threshold alone so contemporary music with already-hot rms is unaffected.