Quantcast
FOCAL Twin6 Purchase - Feedback Please - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
FOCAL Twin6 Purchase - Feedback Please
Old 23rd January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
FOCAL Twin6 Purchase - Feedback Please

Ultimately heres my question: Are there any other speakers in the price range of the Twins I should look at that you personally would rather buy? Here's the rest of my post to shed a light on where I'm at if that would effect your answer.

Hello,

I did some searches for the Twins and found some useful threads. I found that threads from many years ago had almost all positive comments about these speakers. But more recent threads seem to be less positive and referring to the "hype" that came along with these.

I'm not a professional engineer. I have been at this for a while though as far as writing/recording/basic mixing goes. I've had a low end pair of M-Audios for 6+ years. Recently as I've been getting more in to sound design on analog synths, drum machines, and so on I've realized the importance of having great monitors to be able to find those sounds with. And I do want to become a better engineer in time.

I don't know about monitors and different companies very well. I'm considering the Twins for my studio based on what people have told me. Of course soon I will take a trip the the store and listen in person.

My room is not treated. Maybe someday it will be but I live in an apartment and it's just not a possibility at this time. I'm not looking to finish my mix either. I'm not willing to sacrifice the time it would take from writing and recording to become a truly skilled engineer. I'm o:k and I want to get it far along but it will go to a professional to finish the last 10%. But someday I will have a treated room. So I'd rather just make a solid purchase now as opposed to getting something for $2000 and then in a few years dropping another $3600. I'd rather just go for it now.

Any suggestions are more than welcome.
Old 23rd January 2013