Recording Guitar & Woodwinds - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Recording Guitar & Woodwinds
Old 21st September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Recording Guitar & Woodwinds

Hey

I am looking for a mic and a pre-amp to get professional recordings of acoustic guitars, woodwinds and sometimes vocals.
Someone recommended a Neumann TLM 103 and a Daking Mic Pre One.

I am total newbie in this field... are there any better alternatives for the same price?
Old 22nd September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by keman ➡️
Hey

I am looking for a mic and a pre-amp to get professional recordings of acoustic guitars, woodwinds and sometimes vocals.

I am total newbie in this field... are there any better alternatives for the same price?
Lots of options out there and almost all of the answers will be subjective. The Daking would be a fine choice. Another good one in the price point (even cheaper actually) is the True System P-solo. The TLM 103 is an OK mic, but many people feel there are better mics for the same money or less. I would take a close look at mics from Shure, Audio Technica and Microtech-Geffell in that price range.
Old 22nd September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by keman ➡️
Hey

The techniques used for vocals and guitar would be different. And there are many.

In my opinion and typical but not exclusive go-to setup for acoustic guitar would use two small diaphragm condenser mics into a dual mic pre. The classics are the AKG 451/460/480 family, the Neumann KM84, etc. But the 1990s vintage Oktava MK/MC-012 delivers a respectable sound on a budget. There are other, newer inexpensive SD mics but I am not familiar with them.

The choice of mic and pre style for vocal is all over the place depending upon the context.