Quantcast
Neumann U47 vs.... - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Neumann U47 vs....
Old 13th September 2012
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
Neumann U47 vs....

I'm goin here and while I've been recording and producing for about 15 years, I'm finally getting bigger name gigs and stuff with budgets. I know... counting my blessings.
That said, I have a great space, lots of outboard gear and PT10 Accel 3, apogee converts, big ben, summing mixer, a lot of great pre's and comps...
I have a lot of mics too but only a TLM 103 on the Neumann end. I have nothing like a Neumann U47 and read a lot in TapeOp and Mix that people use U47 for vocals and all kinds of stuff. I have used one on drums, kick, but just never had access to one for vocals and acoustic instruments.
So I'm seeing them on craigslist and ebay rarely and seems like the prices vary. If you guys had a bit bigger budget to add a classic nice mic, is a U47 these days worth the money and the name? I like the idea that its an investment too and that someday when I'm all done with music production and sell stuff, that maybe (just maybe) its still worth something, or even more! Like a classic car :-)
Anyway, ideas for me? Got some money but would want something I would use a lot. Mostly male, female singer-songwriter vocals. Seems like a limited thing, so... anyone I should contact and ask (vintage king?)
Ideas?
Old 13th September 2012
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
Sorry and want to add... what is the 'i' add to the end? Neumann U47 FET i? And do they all have 'i' at the end?
Old 13th September 2012 | Show parent
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
To my way of thinking I would look at a U67 and maybe a vintage U87 first.

U47's are great, and on the right voice they can be magic, but the other two are way cheaper and probably more versatile.