CRANESONG STC 8 vs PORTICO II MASTER BUSS COMP - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
CRANESONG STC 8 vs PORTICO II MASTER BUSS COMP
Old 31st March 2012
Gear Head

🎧 10 years

Any one has experience using these 2 units?

Which one would you go for for use mostly on a 2 buss?

Film music use, pretty much all genres.

Thank you in advance.
Old 31st March 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
This is a good match up. I'm curious to hear from people who've had experience with both as well. I do have an STC-8M, but I've never tried the Portico. The STC-8 is a quality unit with great control and adjustability. It took me a while to wrap my head around some of the different settings, but once you do, there are a variety of ways to tackle any given source. I would say it excels at transparent gain reduction, and while I have no experience in film, I would imagine it would do a great job. Hopefully someone who's had experience with both will chime in. Best of luck - Paul
Old 1st April 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I'd be interested is reading any experiences !
Old 1st April 2012 | Show parent
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by riffmachine ➑️
This is a good match up. I'm curious to hear from people who've had experience with both as well. I do have an STC-8M, but I've never tried the Portico. The STC-8 is a quality unit with great control and adjustability. It took me a while to wrap my head around some of the different settings, but once you do, there are a variety of ways to tackle any given source. I would say it excels at transparent gain reduction, and while I have no experience in film, I would imagine it would do a great job. Hopefully someone who's had experience with both will chime in. Best of luck - Paul

Paul, thanks for posting.

I have had a chance to see the STC8 in action, amazing unit. At the same time, have heard great things about the MBC from people that I trust. in the middle of the road here before I make the purchase