Difference between API 500 and 200 Series - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Difference between API 500 and 200 Series
Old 7th June 2003
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
Difference between API 500 and 200 Series

Hi all!

I'm new to this great forum and I thought I'd start by asking you guys a question.

I'm considering buying an API preamp with an API compressor (to start with anyway).

Now the question is, do the 200 series have exactly the same sound as the 500 series or is there something missing in these cheaper modules, both the preamp and the compressor?

Thanks in advance,
Magnus
Old 8th June 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I have the api 7600 input channel. It's really an amazing box. The 200 series pre and comp with a 550a eq section. You can patch out the separate sections as well. I also use the lunchbox 500 series, but find I reach for the 7600 quite a bit.

Check it out.
Old 8th June 2003
member no 666

🎧 15 years
The 200 series pre-amp doesn't have the DI or meter functions of the 500 series pre-amp... the 200 series compressor has features and functions far beyond that of it's 500 series sister... 7600 kinda gives you a "mix and match" kind of thing...
Old 8th June 2003
Gear Nut

🎧 15 years
I've been told that tha 500 series has a more extended frequency range than the 200 series. Therefore, the 512c may sound a little brighter perhaps on some instruments than it's 200 series counterpart. This is the impression I have, I don't know this for a fact.

Goodluck,
John
Old 9th June 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
You may also consider Old School Audio http://www.oldschoolaudio.com/ for the mic pre and then get a api 525 compressor and 550b eq. That would be a killer channel. API just introduced a lower cost, 6-space lunchbox.