The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
0300 vs VS2108 (ported or sealed)?
Old 18th November 2009
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
0300 vs VS2108 (ported or sealed)?

I'm a film composer. I need monitors that I can write all day on - 12-15 hours a day.
But they also need to be usable (not perfect, just satisfactory) for mixing and mastering myself sometimes.

I've pretty much narrowed it down to either the K+H 0300s (sealed) probably with the 0800 sub, or the Quested VS 2108s (ported) and MAYBE with their VS sub.

I'm interested in how the Barefoot MM27s would compare to these (or if I would even notice the difference - I'm not a 'golden ears' guy), but they're a little pricey for me anyway.

I've heard how sealed systems give cleaner bass, but I'm not sure that debate is relevant to a near field system in a 16 x 18 writing room.

Anyone have an opinion of which would work better for typical orchestra/electronica/hybrid film music?
Old 18th November 2009
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
You can't really go far wrong with the K+H 0300 / 0800 combination, but for a little more money you should also check out the Geithain 901Ks. Very special speakers and you don't need a sub.
Old 18th November 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
Are Geithains only for acoustic music ? Or also great for electronic ?

I am myself thinking of picking up a pair of RL906s after testing.
Old 19th November 2009 | Show parent
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Yes. The Geithains make me foam at the mouth...but at around 10k for the pair....that's pretty insane.
On top of that, they're hard to buy (or demo) in Los angeles...

But I've thought about them more than once....
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Are the Geithains a sealed speaker...that's what it looks like.

My question really is less about the specific speaker models (0300, 2108, etc), and is really more about the Ported Vs. Sealed accuracy/quality in the context of a near-field in a small 15x18 room....