Quantcast
Building a 1073 - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Building a 1073
Old 25th January 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
Building a 1073

I am a junior electronics engineering student that works part time at a local recording studio. For my prototyping class I would like to build a Neve 1073 mic pre, and have already found a reliable schematic. My main problem is locating the several sound cards required (BA284, BA283/AV, BA182/C, BA211, BA205). Does anyone know where to purchase these cards or where to find schematics for them? Also has anyone ever attempted to build their own Neve before? If this is impossible, what would be a feasible consolation? I am very set on building a high end preamp for this project. Any advice or help would be very much appreciated.
Old 25th January 2009

🎧 15 years
You picked a very difficult project even for a truly experienced tech...

You won't get much help here... check out the prodigy-pro forums.
Old 26th January 2009 | Show parent
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
DIY

Yep, go to prodigy-pro forum where you can find schematics and pcb's for the 1073 and 1084 you'll save a lot of money with DIY. If you have skills in soldering, reading schematics and troubleshoot you should have no problems

You might get some negative reaction from here since this it a buy it now marketing site where many sales and small companies hang out to push product but just ignore.
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
How hard is it to build 1073? Do they have a kit available? How much do you actually save when building a 1073?

I wouldn't mind building a pultec eq for my api lunchbox. Is there a kit available for building modules for the API lunchbox?

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Recman ➑️
How hard is it to build 1073? Do they have a kit available? How much do you actually save when building a 1073?

I wouldn't mind building a pultec eq for my api lunchbox. Is there a kit available for building modules for the API lunchbox?