Quantcast
hardy M1? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
hardy M1?
Old 5th March 2003
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
hardy M1?

I've never used one before. I see they use Jensen trannies. So would you say this is similar to and API? What would you compare the M1 to? In what applications are you using them?
Old 5th March 2003
member no 666

🎧 15 years
Similar to an API? Only in that it amplifies microphone level signal to line level signal... tonally and texturally they're quite different. The Hardy is a good bit clearer, the API a good bit more 'aggressive'.

Both are excellent units and can indeed be used interchangably... but they're definitely different sounding.
Old 6th March 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Fletcher is right--they are very different sounding. The Hardy is more crisp and faster than the API whereas the API is harder and more aggressive sounding. I find myself choosing the Hardy often for acoustic guitars, drums, bass, orchestral instruments....anything where I want a cleaner sound. I just used it with an R121 last night to record trombone. I often pick the API for electric guitars, drums, vocals.

Brad
Old 7th March 2003
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
Hardy

I think the Hardys are also great on guitar cabs, but I recently tried to scrounge up enough cash to double some guitar parts with an API 3124. -E
Old 8th March 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I use mine on vocals and acoustic guitars. Ditto the 'faster' comment someone made earlier...

-john
Old 10th March 2003
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
Brent Averill told me that unlike the Neve, the API does not shave off the transients.
Old 10th March 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
When you say it sounds "faster", are you refering to the rise time of the unit?
Old 14th March 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally posted by e-cue