Quantcast
Tube-Tech CL-1B + CL-1A differences??? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Tube-Tech CL-1B + CL-1A differences???
Old 6th February 2003
Gear Head

🎧 15 years
Tube-Tech CL-1B + CL-1A differences???

Anyone know the differences between the Tube-Tech CL-1B and the CL-1A?

Thanks in advance,

Mark
Old 6th February 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
The 1A is point to point, hand wired while the 1B uses more "modern" construction techniques, IIRC.

I own 2 CL-1Bs. I consider them the ideal transparent vocal compressor. People who have ears tell me the 1As sound a little "tougher" and just a bit more aggressive. Being hand wired, that could vary from unit to unit.

I bet Dave Martin might know more than I about this, though.

Regards,
Brian T
Old 6th February 2003
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
Hey Brian, you consider the 1 b to be the ultimate vocal compressor? HUm,,, I've been singing into it for the last 10 years. Maybe it needs new tubes? My friend Greg at Pendulum thinks not though. I don't know? I sang through Ben Fowlers Neve compressor a few years ago and loved it. It was deffinately less transparent but I liked that. It seemed to help me. It was fun sort of interacting with the gear whereas the Tubtech seems like it's not there. Maybe I'm just so used to it that the interactioin with my voice is 2nd nature? Maybe I was just noticing the Neve so much as I wasn't used to the way it reacts and it reats more then the Tube tech? Not sure but would like to hear a Neve again to check it out. Have you heard the RNC? Is it for real?

Mitch
Old 6th February 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years