Quantcast
Stupid stuff you did while learning - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Stupid stuff you did while learning
Old 30th January 2003
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
Stupid stuff you did while learning

I don't normally post on the high-end forum because my studio is not a place most high-enders could call home. However, the SSL/End of World thread got me to thinking about stupid stuff I did while learning that opened my eyes to some basic truths about what we do. Anybody got a good story? Here's one of mine...

When I first started out I worked as a gopher at a studio, mostly pulling dubs. A client brought in an old full-track mono 1/4" to have copies pulled and mentioned to me that it might need a little EQ. I spent the next hour working over this tape with a parametric... when I finished I thought I'd created a masterpiece. The client came in with my boss and he listened for a minute and looked at my boss with a "just smelled ****" kind of expression. My boss turned to him and said "oh, here's the problem" and switched the EQ into bypass. Of course the tape sounds just great flat, I'd fooled myself into believing I was making it sound better. Without A/B'ing the signal I was just making it sound worse and worse.
Old 30th January 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Most of my stupid-stories from my rookie years stem from punching.

For example, punching on the vocal track to do some adlibs, while the perfect, 300th-take gtr solo track was still armed.

Your story remids me of another shameful dub. It was an excellent dub, actually, but I dubbed the blank tape over the master.. That went over well. tut :eek:

Does orange juice spilled into the patchbay count?

-dave
Old 31st January 2003
Don
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years