Quantcast
Sony DMXr-100? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Sony DMXr-100?
Old 21st December 2002
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
Sony DMXr-100?

I am seriously considering buying the Sony DMXr-100. Any reasons why I should or shouldn't?
I am a Musician, who produces my own stuff, occasionally do some producing for others, mainly am looking for information on the quality of the Equalizers in the Board. Also how do the Preamps do in comparison with other Boards?
Thanks
Zak
Old 21st December 2002
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
Hi,

I looked into purchasing this console when it orginally came out. To be honest, I personally don't understand the hype about this board. I do think it is an amazing control surface, but I really disliked the EQ. I remember putting a CD through a couple of channels and remembering that I couldn't hear a boost at 100hz until I wound in 5db of gain! I also found the top end very brittle. To me it didn't come close to the Renaissance EQ plug ins. So if you want "digital" EQ, I think you could do a lot better. I ended up getting an analog console which I love. Granted it cost me way more than the Sony. I really wanted to love the Sony board, it would have made life a lot simpler in terms of patching and ease of setting up, but for me it didn't cut it. Nor did the on board compression.

I suggest you spend a little time with it and make up your own mind. I'm sure like any gear, there are some people who are getting great results from the console. I unfortunately, was just not into it.

Good luck........
Old 21st December 2002
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
Re: Sony DMXr-100?

Quote:
Originally posted by Zakmakhak
I am seriously considering buying the Sony DMXr-100. Any reasons why I should or shouldn't?
I am a Musician, who produces my own stuff, occasionally do some producing for others, mainly am looking for information on the quality of the Equalizers in the Board. Also how do the Preamps do in comparison with other Boards?
Thanks
Zak