The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Amek BC2
Old 27th February 2008
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Amek BC2

hi im new to this forum and already have a urgent problem (dont you just love me)

ok so i want to get a Amek BC2 and i have a chance to buy one pretty darn cheap i just need to know this info

its just the mixing board with its strips but it doesnt have a power cable is there really anything i need to go along with it so itll work (once i get the power cable) im new to these higher grade mixers been useing a yamaha mg for a while now and i really want to upgrade so please tell me if i need anything to go along with it

the sooner the reply the better

thanks
Old 27th February 2008
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Errr.. you do realize that these desks have an external power supply?
I think that the BC2 had just one, while the BC3 had two!
What i mean is, it doesn't have an inbuilt power supply... I guess you knew this, but the wording in your message is not so clear..haven't had the morning coffee yet!
Old 27th February 2008 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
The coffee is starting to kick in...
Another thing about these desks is that they were built for broadcasting purposes, this made them modular and capable of different channel strip configurations. You could get separate stereo line inputs, mic inputs or (maybe..can't exactly remember) mono line inputs. something like that..so my advice is to see how many mic inputs there really are and see if that works out for how you plan to work. The stereo line inputs could be switched to mono if required.
I think there were 3 pre amp options. but i might be wrong here.. i think that the original had an Angela type pre, then you had the option to get Langley designed pres and MAYBE also the option for Neve ( i remember that the BC3 was stock Neve).
Welcome to Gearslutz, BTW!
Old 27th February 2008 | Show parent
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
well it wasnt so much i havent had my coffee as it was i hadnt gotten sleep as of that time