Intro to Geekery - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Intro to Geekery
Old 14th March 2014
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
Intro to Geekery

I'm new to these parts of Gearslutz.

I may have had minor dropping incidents in the past- with my MS-20 mini, a "don't ask" kinda thing, and later with my Matrix 6, a story of too great a magnitude for this particular post. Opening these suckers up and inspecting for damage, as well as hearing about crazy Don Buchla modules and seeing Ken MacBeth demo his creations tipped my interest in learning how to build modules, synths, maybe even effects units. Of course a good knowledge of circuitry is required, but what other fields does one need to be well versed in? I had also thought of some mods I that would be awesome for the MS-20, it'd be great to be able to do that sort of thing myself.

Hopefully the answer is "read This book" and I'd get a-weldin' away, but I sense it may not be quite that simple!
Old 14th March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Hi
Very few books or articles will actually tell you what you really need to know so you have to read LOADS of books and while you do so, ask (yourself) WHY is 'such and such comoponent' there, and why that value.
It involves THINKING.
A bunch of 5 minute 'youtube' clips will tell you next to nothing.
EVERYTHING is a compromise despite what the marketers may want you to think (about their product) and positives in some aspects are negatives in others. Teflon coated silver wire may be 'nice' and improve sonics slightly, but it will probably make gear too expensive for anyone except the aerospace industry with their budgets.
Happy reading.
Matt
Old 16th March 2014 | Show parent
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Syson ➑️
Hi
Very few books or articles will actually tell you what you really need to know so you have to read LOADS of books and while you do so, ask (yourself) WHY is 'such and such comoponent' there, and why that value.
It involves THINKING.