multi-channel sound installation - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
multi-channel sound installation
Old 5th March 2014
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
multi-channel sound installation

Hi,
This will probably not be a challenging question for you :-) but it would be very helpful for me

So, I'm an artist working on a multi-channel sound installation. I bought some gear but I'm not sure about the specs and would be very grateful to hear your advise. By the way, I'm not looking for the best sound quality in my project- something like a radio set will be good enough for me. But I do need it to be loud enough.

I have several amp boards: the T2 STA510A by hifimediy. The recommended voltage it 35V
Hifimediy T2 SE STA510A MUNDORF MCAP (I think its the previous model, without the mundorf mcap - I don't know what's mcap is)

I also bought Meanwell Nes-350-36 (350W, 36V) power supply
http://www.meanwell.com/search/NES-350/NES-350-spec.pdf

[1]
I see that the Meanwell has 3 possible outputs. Can I use a single Meanwell to power two of the amp board? Or would it drastically lower the volume?

[2]
I have a spare Meanwell s-350-24. Can I use it with the amp board? My guess here is that it would have less volume, but again I have experience with something like that.

The loudspeakers I'm using: Pyle PL42BL. The specs say: 90 Watt RMS, 180 Watts Max. Someone in the store told me these specs are for a single loudspeaker (they come in pairs). I would very much make a setting that provides enough power to run the max RMS...

Thanks a lot!
ysoundy
Old 5th March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Wow. You are using rather esoteric components for your modest requirements!

[1] I don't know what you mean by "3 possible outputs"? The MeanWell NES-350-36 is a single-output, 36V, 9.6A power supply. It will power any number of loads up to its current capacity.

[2] The amplifier module is specified for "24-39V" so your 24V power supply should work. But, as you say, with lower power output.