TL Audio EQ-1 Help Needed Replacing Pots And IC Chips
Old 1st March 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Talking TL Audio EQ-1 Help Needed Replacing Pots And IC Chips

hello all

im a newbie when it comes to upgrading and doing mods to audio gear myself

need some advice quite badly please

my tl audio eq-1 which has lived on my drums for past 15 years has given up as the pots are cutting out

from what i gather the x2 channel volume / gain pots are Dual 5KA centre detent with reverse law

then i need x8 100k centre detent pots for the volume / gain on the frequency bands

the shaft length are about 20mm

these pots seem impossible to find ? , tl audio do not stock them and the only place i managed to track them down wants a near hefty Β£100 for the original stock parts and the quality is pretty shockingly bad , these original tl audio stock pots start crackling after 2 or 3 years as i had more than one set over time

here is a picture of the original dual pot taken out , any ideas of replacements will be forever in my gratitude

see attachments for picture

last of all some advice on op amps would be fantastic

all the old op amps have been taken out and replaced with sockets as this unit had been on near everyday for 15 years

this unit had x7 ne5532 and x2 2017

from what i understand the 2017 sounds dirty and should be replaced , by 2019s ??? , please correct me if I'm wrong

also the x7 original ne5532 would you replace them for new ne 5532s ? or try something like the lm 4562 or LME49720NA or the more expensive LME49720HA ?

I'm sure a few of you will be thinking caps , they all been replaced with decent panasonics , not looked at resistors but the ones inside are all operating correctly

thank you for your help and time

best regards boombox
Attached Thumbnails
TL Audio EQ-1 Help Needed Replacing Pots And IC Chips-dual-5k-potentiometer-centre-detent.jpg  
Old 1st March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Have you tried cleaning the pots?