Left Side of Bus EQ Dropped 6dB - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Left Side of Bus EQ Dropped 6dB
Old 23rd January 2013
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
Left Side of Bus EQ Dropped 6dB

I use a pair of racked ADM 1541 EQ's with UTC OP Amps strapped across the 2 bus in front of a GSSL Comp and one side dropped down about 6dB last night. I double checked the signal path/cabling etc... to verify that it was the EQ. Also hooked up a meter directly on each end to verify this.

I need this fixed ASAP as I am running a business and have mix projects but the nearest tech I trust is about 100 miles away and probably can't get it done for a few days. I live about 100 north of Seattle.

A few questions:
1. Anyone have any idea what the problem may be?
2. I have a little bit of soldering experience. I also have a degree in physics which I studied some electronic theory and took a few labs. Is this something I could troubleshoot PROPERLY? I've fixed bad solders before, just never troubleshooted (I know that is kind of a silly question, but hey! I'm in a pinch here).
3. Anyone know any techs around or north of Seattle that could travel to my studio (I have some other things that need to be looked at)?

Thanks Folks!
Old 23rd January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Hi Bill,
A 6db drop is almost always a sign that you have lost one side of a balanced output.
I know a guy in Vancouver BC that might be closer to you...he's certainly closer than me!.
Best,
Ike
Old 23rd January 2013
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
Thanks Ike! Would you mind messaging me that number?
Old 24th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Stand by, let me check with the guy 1st.
Best,
Ike
Old 24th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Hi Bill,