Quantcast
I'm thoroughly embarassed... But I need some help, 3-band EQ - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
I'm thoroughly embarassed... But I need some help, 3-band EQ
Old 19th September 2012
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
I'm thoroughly embarassed... But I need some help, 3-band EQ

I'm currently studying electrical engineering (3rd Year) and have a year long class called 'Engineering Design' in which me + a group has to make a 'product'.
For this we are making a basic audio-spectrum analyser using Analog Devicess Blackfin 548 with a passive analog 3-band EQ (to show people how music works, sort of).
The Software side is basically finished, but for some reason this super basic 3-Band Shelving EQ/Filter is giving me hell, it just will not work the way any of the simulations say it will (the attenuation it provides is minute).

The circuit is as follows

with 5K logarithmic potentiometers to the output,
Do I need bigger potentiometers to attenuate the outputs of each band more? or is there a flaw in my design I'm failing to pick up on.

Incase the picture isn't clear enough the components used are, 4x100 ohm resistors, 2x10uF caps & 2x470nF caps (16v & 30v).

Sorry for such a noob question! Hopefully I get some light on the matter
Old 19th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
How did you arrive at the value of those 100 ohm resistors? They seem too low by a couple orders of magnitude. Is there some reason you didn't use a more conventional circuit? One with the variable resistors used as potentiometers to cut/boost vs. using them as rheostats? Was there a requirement that you design your own circuit vs. using one of the popular published circuits? For example Google returned over a million image hits for: 3-band eq circuit This was the very first hit:

HeadWize - Project: Designing A Pocket Equalizer For Headphone Listening (A HeadWize Design Series Paper)

Old 19th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years