Quantcast
Need Help Figuring Out Live Setup - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Need Help Figuring Out Live Setup
Old 10th March 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Need Help Figuring Out Live Setup

I've been doing a lot of research, trying to figure out the optimal live setup for what I have. I'm fairly new to this stuff, so forgive me if I don't explain it that well.

External hardware I have:
Roland JX-3P
Oberheim DX (No MIDI)
Roland SP404SX (just bought/on the way)

I also have Logic Pro X as my DAW (only really been using it for studio recording, not sure of live capabilities).

So live there will be two of us. We both can play guitars/synths. All the drums are created in my Oberheim.

My question is should I load the oberheim samples into the 404 and recreate the drum sequences there, or should I be retrofitting my Oberheim with MIDI and connecting the two, and making the Oberheim a slave. Im basically confused on why you would need to do the latter, but sounds like it's a timing issue?

I also need to figure out how exactly would you sync everything to a click and run that click through in-ear.

Lastly, I have bass parts, synth parts, and multiple guitar parts. So my ability to constantly control the sampler on the normal song structure ones is limited. Would it be stupid to load a full song's drum/bass sequence in one or two sample pads?

And how does this all affect sound quality live?

Any help is much appreciated.

Last edited by peskin; 10th March 2014 at 04:37 AM.. Reason: more info
Old 10th March 2014
Lives for gear

Ok, here are my thoughts:

Leave the Oberheim at home. Sample it and play back the samples live. Or, retrofit for MIDI. Syncing to your Oberheim is a can of worms without MIDI and you'd be syncing to it rather than vice versa.

Are you leaving your computer at home or taking it with you live?