Solution to chord change in EDM music - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Solution to chord change in EDM music
Old 7th March 2014
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
Solution to chord change in EDM music

Hello

Right now I am making a DnB song. Its my first attempt on making DnB.
Not really a complete Drum and Bass song but its actually for a J-pop artist.
The japanese pop songs usually changes chords between intro, verse , prechorus, and hook.(its really killing me, since i cant play the keys...)

I am stuck for the prechorus. I dont know what chords I should play here.
So heres the song im making right now. its imcomplete still need to add some more synth.

Heres 2 attempts i took for the pre.
I just played a pad.

ver1
https://soundcloud.com/kentz_music/dnbver1/s-HZWeV

ver2
https://soundcloud.com/kentz_music/dnbver2/s-4sbVH

What do you guys think? It does sound alittle bit boring...
And maybe pre is too long? I can shorten it to half?

Do you guys have any ideas?

I will credit gearslutz if I get this song placed lol.
Old 7th March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
I would put a little arpeggiated lead sound between about 1:03-1:08 in the prechorus. I'm assuming there is a vocal going over it, and DNB is more focused on the, well, drums and bass, so your melodic content is more about spice than substance.
Old 7th March 2014
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
Honest advice. If you plan to keep doing this. Learn an instrument. Having trouble with chord changes as a "musician" is like having trouble to boil an egg as a cook.
Old 7th March 2014 | Show parent
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimi7777 ➑️
Honest advice. If you plan to keep doing this. Learn an instrument. Having trouble with chord changes as a "musician" is like having trouble to boil an egg as a cook.
On top of that with a midi keyboard it's really easy to learn on your own without formal training, including inversions.