Quantcast
N00b advice on mpc vs drum machine vs keyboards - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
N00b advice on mpc vs drum machine vs keyboards
Old 3rd March 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
N00b advice on mpc vs drum machine vs keyboards

Okay so I am completely new to the electronic music production. I've been scouring the net but all it's given me is a headache! Lol

So basically I'm just asking for advice on what I should be leaning towards.

I'm basically looking to learn more on the side of playing and preforming. After seeing such great performances by araab Muzik I'm looking for a piece of equipment that can do exactly that.

I'd prefer it to be portable to an extent and perhaps the ability to play it without the need of a laptop. A few of the ones I've seen online that might be what I'm looking for is the mpc, mpk49 or beat thang. But as I said I'm a novice so id love advice on what I should be leaning towards and the differences the equipment can do for me.

Thanks in advance.
Apologies for the poor structure of this thread, I'm writing this on my phone.
Old 3rd March 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Also influenced by the styles of M4Sonic although I do know the launch pad is a midi controller and requires the use of a laptop.
Old 3rd March 2014
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years

araab Muzik uses an mpc2500. You could use a computer to edit your samples or first, and then transfer them in over usb. While I'm not really a 'head, I had friends who were. My bro used to take vinyl and make samples directly from the mixer into his mpc2000 - which you could do the same with the 2500 - you just need a turntable, a mixer, an mpc, a cartridge/needle for the turntable, some records and all the right cables, some headphones and/or powered monitors to listen while you cut and perform.