The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Should I get the Korg Kaossilator 1 or Kaossilator 2? Anyone try both?
Old 2nd December 2013
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Should I get the Korg Kaossilator 1 or Kaossilator 2? Anyone try both?

I want a Kaossilator simply because it looks really fun to make loops and improvise layers over each other to make little songs, especially without the need to really know how to play an instrument (even though I do play guitar and have an Alesis Micron I can kind of play). I am not a musician -- I definitely don't perform live and I do write songs sometimes, but only for fun for myself when I am bored. This is a musical toy for me to get creative without too much effort thanks to a machine helping me hit notes that sound right. My question is really whether I should ask for Kaossilator 1 or Kaossilator 2 for Christmas.

On one hand, I know that the Kaossilator 2 seems to only allow up to 8 beats whereas the Kaossilator 1 allows 16. It seems the loops will be able to have more variety and feel more like real songs with the Kaossilator 1 compared to the 2. Do you find that it's a big problem when trying to craft a song?

On the other hand, I know the Kaossilator 1 doesn't have an SD card or mechanism to save recordings on a computer directly off the Kaossilator. I'd have to record everything with a line-in in real time. Will the Kaossilator 1 still be able to remember previous loops and jams and store them? Or do I need to start fresh everytime?

Any other points of comparison? I know Kaossilator 2 is more portable and lightweight, which seems like a plus. Kao1 seems to have a more solid build. Any other points of comparison would be great. Thanks.
Old 2nd December 2013
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
I've had both...go for the Kaossilator 2 although I do miss the longer loop times of the K1

-you can save loops; you can have 2 loops going at once (or back and forth with a crossfader)