DSI Prophet 12 - Page 101 - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
DSI Prophet 12
Old 25th February 2016 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkDX7 ➑️
Can it do stuff like trance sounds and more old school Prophet/Jupiter sounds?
Yes.*

*As long as you don't plug it into an oscilloscope.
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
Quote:
Probably. But possibly not as "thick" sounding. I'm still a novice on the P12 but so far I find it more suited for complex, evolving and distorted sounds. For thick, layered sounds I use a Jupiter-80. For analog, subtle motion I use a Prophet 6. The P12 is very flexible but it is not instant gratification.
Quote:
Not to steer you away from either the Prophet 12 or the OB6 but if you are specifically looking for a synth just to generate trance and EDM sounds then the Virus would be a better choice. I have the P-12 and the Virus TI2 so I can say from my experience that any of the Virus line of synths would most certainly excel for Trance - EDM music.
Old 25th February 2016
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
Ya its not the end of the world if it can't do real trance sounds I am not a techno producer lol. I do like the brass leads in eurobeat like crazy though.

I like playing covers of 80s music etc it would be used mostly for that. I mean I would just get a Jupiter 6 if I wasn't worried about getting it fixed where I live :(. I live for 80s music and synths haha. I love lead tones like on Jump and all those other catchy 80s songs. Most of which seem to be played on the OBX or J8. Love hall and oates stuff aswell. Thats why I was looking for something pretty dynamic sound wise.

I love the OB6 tone the best from just listening to my ear, but I refuse to spend 3K on that short of a key bed and have to use a different board to control it. There are a ton of songs I like to play that need at least what the P12 has which is why its on my list.
Quote: