Quantcast
Best workhorse synth for beginner? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Best workhorse synth for beginner?
Old 22nd January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Best workhorse synth for beginner?

Hello gearslutz, new guy here looking for some input.

Just did my taxes and realized I'm getting a decent amount back, so I want to purchase my first hardware synthesizer. Basically if you could only have 1 synth in the $1,500.00 range, what would it be and why?

Alittle background, I've been DJing for about the past 5 years, started out analog with vinyl/turntables but eventually upgraded to digital with midi controllers and traktor/ableton software with vsti's. After 5 years of playing repetitive top 40 garbage for partys/venues I lost interest in it and decided to get rid of my equipment. Now I'm finding myself with free time on my hands and no creative outlet, I still have Ableton live and tons of software synths (Zebra, Massive, Sylenth, Omnysphere, ect..) but I never found my "creative flow" in the GUI environment. Page diving through vsti's and squinting at my computer screen while turning "virtual" knobs with my mouse just isn't very intuitive to me. I have owned several midi keyboards (M-Audio Axiom & Native Instruments MKII Keyboard) but was never satisfied with how they felt (cheap plastic knobs that click, poor key bed, problems with midi CC messages, issues with Automap, ect...). Not to mention software synths can be a real CPU hog on my system when running lots of voices (I have a 2012 Macbook Air with a i7 processor, and it still get's bogged down with heavy soft synths).