OldNoob seeking slutty help - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
OldNoob seeking slutty help
Old 21st January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Making Sneak loops !

Hi,

Here's my first thread so please excuse the noobish aspects of it.
I listen to electronic music since 1993 (mostly Acid, Goa and Hardcore as those were the main streams in my place). I then discovered (94) Chicago House and booty and then Jeff Mills then many others I won't mention because that would be too long.

I never really learned music, I only know ultra basic chords but know some principles (electronic engineer [signal processing]).
I started hacking with FastTracker II in 1995, then got a MC303 when it came out. Sold the MC303 because it wasn't my taste and then stopped because as a student I didn't have the funds to buy the goods I dreamt about (AkaΓ― sampler, Roland tr909 and tb303...).
I started back with Ableton Live in mid 2000's and just bought an Axiom 49 to use with it. Life caught me so I decided to sell my stuff.

I'm back in business since last December, discovered nice software integration with Maschine but decided to sell it because I prefer Ableton and will therefore get a Push when it's out.
While waiting for it's release I'm gonna buy an Alesis Q25 just to play with Ableton and various VST's.

My goal is still the same as when I began : trying to make some loops like DJ Sneak in his studio video with Weeks, Funky/Disco House Music (I'm not in the Swedish House or EuroTrance...). I also like Sebastian, Surkin, Breakbot, Lifelike...

After this huge intro here is my first question :
What should be my next purchases ?
As previously mentionned I'm gonna get a Q25 (I know that I should get a 32/37/49 keys but I prefer learning the other parts of music production and will try Xfer Cthulu).
I'll get some monitors soon but first need to get some headphones.
Thinking about an Alesis 3630 comp too but...

Thanks a lot for your help and understanding !
Old 21st January 2013