Quantcast
An Important Lesson About Monitors - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
An Important Lesson About Monitors
Old 20th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
An Important Lesson About Monitors

I learned what I would consider a very simple, obvious, but good lesson. I figured I'd share it on GS. As obvious as it is someone here still might get something out of it. I posted on this forum because I feel like this applies even more to synthesizers, drum machines, and the music making machines of this sort.

I'm not an engineer and not on the quest to be one. Not on a pro level anyway. It would take too much time away from writing and recording that I'm not willing to sacrifice. I have some basic skills that are good enough but to achieve a final mix I go to someone who has a lot more gear and has spent years cuttng their teeth on mixing as I have with my craft.

This is why I never really put a whole lot of weight in to my personal need for really good monitors. I have a low end pair of M-Audios I bought about 6 years ago for probably around $300 if I remember right. So yesterday I was playing with the Vermona DRM3. I was getting decent sounds but I kept tweaking and tweaking and couldn't quite get the sound I was wanting. Then I thought that maybe the DRM3 might not be capable of the sound I wanted. It was getting late and I figured I'd put on some headphones. I have a really expensive nice pair of headphones. After I put them on there it was. The sound I was looking for was almost there. And after two minutes I had it. At that point I realized the importance of good monitors. I went back and played the Prophet 5 that I had just been playing and it sounded different. There was a quality that was there that was completely absent on the M-Audios which I now call M-Adios.

It wasn't because the headphones/speakers were close to my ears. It wasn't because maybe it was louder. The sound quality was different. And much better.