Quantcast
Sampler / Kaoss advice please..! - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Sampler / Kaoss advice please..!
Old 24th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Sampler / Kaoss advice please..!

Hi - Im a Hang Drum player and want to enter the big world of recording and sampling in real time - along with manipulating with a Kaoss pad. Im also a complete novice with sampling so please bear this in mind!
Id really appreciate some advice on a good set up - Im currently thinking of an MPC 1000 with the KP 3. Id use the MPC to trigger (and maybe also record) beats on the fly, as well as (more importantly) to record the Hangs while playing and then either chop up the file or run it through the KP. I was thinking of the SP 555 but then found out it only has a recording time of 15 seconds, which isnt really long enough for me.
I guess a few things I need to know are Will the MPC record for a longer time?
Is there a better combined unit that would do the job of the two? I also have access to a Boss loop pedal and wonder if this would be a better route.
Is the MPC 1000 fairly beginner user friendly?
Any tips much appreciated
Thanks!
Old 24th September 2012
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxthewoodman ➑️
Im currently thinking of an MPC 1000 with the KP 3. Id use the MPC to trigger (and maybe also record) beats on the fly
When the MPC1000 is in recording mode, it can't play back samples.

Quote:
It's very straightforward.

If you want to record for longer stretches, loop pedals are a better idea, but those kind of take out the chopping up afterwards, unless you get something with separate outputs.
Old 24th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Thanks for the reply - sounds as though the MPC isnt going to work for me if Im unable to record and playback together. Will the SP 555 do this?
Old 20th January 2013
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years