The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Choosing a Ring Modulator
Old 18th November 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Choosing a Ring Modulator

I want to add a ring modulator to my studio setup and I'm wondering about options. I have a Prophet 08, Yamaha CS-15, Korg 01/W used mainly as a controller, plus various soft synths. I'm hoping to add a Voyager some time in the next year or two. The ring mod would be for use with the synths and vocals. There's an outside chance that I'd run an electric guitar through it on a couple of projects.

My first instinct was to buy a Moogerfooger MF-102 ($200 used) and set it up on an effects loop. But I've also been thinking about selling my CS-15 and upgrading to the CS-30, which coincidentally includes a ring modulator. The cost of the upgrade to the CS-30 would be around $400.

I've never used a ring modulator before and I'm not all that familiar with the CS-30's functions. So I'm wondering how the CS-30's ring modulator compares to the Moogerfooger. If the CS-30 ring mod is similar in features and flexibility to the Moogerfooger, then my decision would be easy: get the CS-30 and run the other synths through it.

If anybody here has experience with either of these units I'd appreciate hearing their opinions.
Old 18th November 2009
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
If you want to get the ultimate ring-mod take this
FREQue II

it is quite expensive but the sonic results are stellar and way above anything from Moogerfoogers to Vermona.
It can also do frequency shifting, FM and lots of other sonic tricks.
Old 18th November 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
The FREQ looks powerful. But I need to keep my costs as low as possible since I'm just dipping my toes into the ring mod world for the first time.
Old 18th November 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Hi Rooftree!
I had up to 5 mooger-foogers! The ring mod has always been my favorite. I use it on everything !!