Quantcast
programming tips - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
programming tips
Old 7th February 2009
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
programming tips

I've been looking for a guide to programming certain families of sounds on subtractive synths. The JX-8P has a great choir sound, but I can't figure out how to even get in the ball park. I figured tri waves, noise, vibrato and lots of resonance, but I can't get the sound right.

also,
I figured out brassy attack with pitch envelopes,
I got decent bow attacks with PW envelopes,
but how do you program chiff attacks for reed sound?
Old 8th February 2009
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
so did I just ask a total noob question or what
Old 8th February 2009 | Show parent
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
its interesting there is actually a pretty poor amount of resources when it comes to patch design IMO....

A lot of books talk mostly about the technicalities of a filter and envelopes and LFOs - but then skimp on actual practical synth programming tips.

I think there is a gap in the market for a really good patch designer to write a book/manual.

A classic resource - although I dont rate it that highly - is the SOund on SOund 'Synth Secrets' series of articles - you can find on Home: Sound On Sound music recording technology magazine. Its quite interesting - but gets a bit bogged down in boring scientific aspects - when really what most want IMO is good inspiring synth patch ideas...

Anyways - there is hope - and its here:

DVD sound design Masterclass by ROB PAPEN sound designer & virtual synthesizers.

He has been working on it for years and if it ever sees the light of day - I have heard it will be very comprehensive...
Old 9th February 2009 | Show parent
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
HOLY CRAP! That SOS series is vast, Thanks for posting that! The Papen DVD looks like it could be pretty cool, but I don't want to wait till 09.