Emulate Pro-One/Prophet-5 with VA? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Emulate Pro-One/Prophet-5 with VA?
Old 26th January 2009
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
Emulate Pro-One/Prophet-5 with VA?

Hi!

I've been making dance music for a few years with a more modern sound, but now I'd like to implant some more vintage stuff in my music.

Could someone give me some pointers on how to emulate the Sequential sound? My setup consist of a Waldorf Blofeld and a NL 2.

What's the most important things to have in mind when emulating old analogue gear with new VA-stuff like the synthesizers in my setup?

Thanks in advance,
John
Old 26th January 2009
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Seward ➑️

What's the most important things to have in mind when emulating old analogue gear with new VA-stuff like the synthesizers in my setup?
I have no idea, but I would say the Pro One is a great little synth to own - the real one that is. It has more going for it than any VA emulation could copy.
Old 26th January 2009

2 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
hmmm
that it sounds good?
you can give a nice touch to modern synths by using filters, phasers etc.

you won't get close to a Prophet though.. pretty unique sound.
the software and VA synths don't do it justice. those old machines have some crunchy 3 dimensional thing going on. hard to put your finger on it,
so if you want 100% genuine Prophet 5 rev2.2 there is only one solution..
find one

OTOH if you're going for something that is not a copy..
The new prophet 08 might be what you need.

Orrr EVEN BETTER that new little mean Mopho, which is beyond fat, and would be the perfect playmate for your lean and slinky Blofeld.
Old 27th January 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Thats what I was just gonna suggest. I own a Prophet 5 and although the Mopho does not sound like it, it sounds like its cousin. It sounds great.
You should buy it.
You will not get real analogue tone out of a program no matter what you do to it.