The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
TALK TALK - It's My Life
Old 3 weeks ago
TALK TALK - It's My Life

In my humble opinion, this song is a bit of a master-class in Synth layering and texturing. And a good tune to boot.

I've been chipping away at this for a couple of years, if for no other reason than to teach myself Synthesis.

For a good while I always thought the "Chime-y" pads in the Chorus were probably a DX7, but scooting around the Web, would indicate they were played on a Roland Jupiter 8.

So if anyone knows the Jupiter 8 "recipe" for those sounds, please don't be afraid to share.

I've been having a stab with my Hydrasynth... as ever, a "close but no cigar" result.

It sounds like there's two layers, one +2 Octaves over Middle C, with a definite bell/chime top end, and the second (+1 Octave over Middle C), with a rounder, but still chimy attack, that bleeds into a vocally pad. Best I can describe it.

On the HS I did this:-

OSC1, TriSaw, + 24ST
OSC2, TriSaw, +12ST, -3 cents

Filter = LPF Ladder 24dB, 100% Track
Cutoff set to "Just above Vanishing Point" - 41.0 or "11 O'clock". Res = 0.0

Filter Env - Atk 0ms, Dec 0ms, Sustain 128, Release 2.30 Sec, RelCurve Exp(47). Full Amount (64.0)

Amp Env - Atk 0ms, Dec 144ms, Sustain 80.5, Release 2.43 Sec, Curves default.

Mutant 1 - Wavestack Dep 27.4, Dry/Wet 100%
Mutant 3 - Wavestack Dep 30.8, Dry/Wet 100%

(Wavestack is 5 voice Unison, Depth (out of 128) is Detune. )

Default Chorus 1 - drop Depth
Default Reverb Hall - 20% Wet

Any tips on improving welcome.
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
It's definitely Jupiter 8 - there are three layers in that part (in the pre-chorus), a smooth pad sound that continues from the verse, with the chorus hook adding a more organ-ey synth pad sound, and a more typical higher bright JP8-style synth part to give more attack and high end.