Quantcast
Learning to play drums for the first time!! - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Learning to play drums for the first time!!
Old 17th September 2012
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
Learning to play drums for the first time!!

I'm teaching my son to play the drums for the first time and I'm trying to start off correctly. Although, I am an accomplished drummer, I am 100% self taught and I don't want to teach him my bad habits.

For instance, I learned on a kit and never really worked on my rudiments. So my finesse is not what it should be. I play more like Dave Grohl than Dave Wekyl.

Also, my son will be trying out in a couple of months to be in a performing arts school band so he'll need to read music as well. Which luckily I can do.

So we're starting with the snare drum (no kit) and I'm having a real tough time finding sheet music for this. I'm looking for the first exercises a drummer should know and all I'm finding is complicated paradiddles, solos and kit sheet music etc.

I'm just looking for simple 1/4, 1/8, 1/16 note marching beats that have L and R next to each hit which will teach him basic reading and simple strokes.

Thanks
Old 17th September 2012
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
Stick Control by George Lawrence Stone is the first book I started out with and the first book I give to my students

the first 3 pages are just 1/8 notes, but with all kind of different sticking patterns. Gets you to read the L's and the R's but its more about control and working both hands than reading per se.

just when you learn one pattern you get another that is similar enough to require 'unlearning' the first one

fun, or torture, depending on your point of view.