Quantcast
Drum Wraps? Anyone had a go at doing one? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Drum Wraps? Anyone had a go at doing one?
Old 5th February 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Drum Wraps? Anyone had a go at doing one?

HI all,

Just wondered if anyone has had a go at doing a drum wrap?

I'm picking up an old APK in a few days. While it is in good condition I thought it might be an ideal set of shells to have a go at doing a wrap.

I work in the sign trade and use coloured and digital vinyls all the time. I was thinking that this might be suitable for use on a drum shell? I could print any design on digital vinyl and apply that - surely this is the way that 'graphic' wraps are done? The vinyl is only 65microns thick, and with the application of a gloss laminate is very durable and attractive.

Any tips or tales would be appreciated - I've started to get a few enquiries about it and would like to know If I am thinking along the right lines before I destroy my (or anyone else's) kit!

Cheers,

Jim
Old 5th February 2009
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
I wouldn't glue it to the shell.
Old 6th February 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Well, the vinyl (be it coloured or printed) has a self-adhesive backing.

However, the vinyl can be easily removed with a little heat from a hair dryer or heat gun, and leaves no residue.

Are wraps not normally glued on? How are they fixed in place?

Jim
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
I once met a guy who took the factory wrap off his shells and replaced them with coffin lining. It was a silvery grey satiny wallpaper type stuff with raised felt fleur-de-lis pattern. Very goth, as you might expect.

I would have imagined all drum wrap eventually has to be glued on.

Maybe crisso means 'see how it looks first' ?
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
i did a whole set back in 2000.

it was not super easy, and you have to be careful, but I won in the end.

precisiondrum.com is the company I used.