Best budget cymbals? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Best budget cymbals?
Old 26th January 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Best budget cymbals?

Hi all,

I'm finally taking the plunge and buying a kit! I've been around drums for years (I'm a guitarist) and can play a little, but i've decided to learn properly.

I have a friend who is a pro and he is selling me his spare kit - an old but tidy Premier APK with a refurbed Premier snare. Not esoteric stuff, but he makes it sound great....

So I need hats, ride and a crash. I've been looking at budget cymbal packs and doing a lot of reading but it's hard to work out what the popular concensus is.

I suppose I'm a 'rock' drummer, but having spent too long with drummers who just hit the crap out of everything and generally overplay all the time, I'm aiming to be a sensitive type that people actually enjoy playing with!

So where should I be looking?

Cheers,

Jim
Old 26th January 2009
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
I would rather choose from top level used cymbals than new budget models. if you can get to a drum shop, see what sounds good to you from their selection, and look for those from what the have in stock, or from your other sources for used gear. Cymbals are much more consistent than they used to be, so, you should do well to look for a particular model used.

Good luck, it's great to have real drums !
Old 27th January 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years