Quantcast
Sonar is like being on another planet... - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Sonar is like being on another planet...
Old 26th January 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Sonar is like being on another planet...

I've been a Pro Tools LE/MP user for about 7 or 8 years.

Lately I've been itching to just kind of see what else is out there DAW-wise, not because I hate Pro Tools, I love it, I'm just curious. I use Vegas Pro sometimes for video and I love the workflow, so I get curious as to what's going on with stuff like Sonar and Cubase.

So I downloaded the Sonar 8 demo, and I look at it, and it's like being on Mars. Like, NOTHING seems intuitive or makes any sense. Even simple stuff like I/O.

And it's not that anything other than Pro Tools just seems foreign to me. I've toyed around with Reaper a bit, and even though I think it's quite a bit awkward compared to Pro Tools, I could find my way around and get simple things done. And like I mentioned, I use Sony Vegas quite a bit and I like that workflow, and of course I find Sony Acid similarly easy to get around in.

Is it just me, or is Sonar just some alien DAW software that only makes sense if you've been using it from the start? I can't imagine anyone getting into recording and starting with this program.

Am I missing something?
Old 26th January 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
I felt the same way - Sonars learning curve seems unnecisarily steep.

The Sonar people could help out though, make some basic -workflow- templates for users of other popular audio apps.

It's my understanding Sonar is real flexible and highly configurable but you'd never know it from the startup screen.
Old 26th January 2009
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
I don't know -- but I also use Vegas for video and one of the reasons I thought it was so easy to get started with was because I thought it was so much like Sonar. heh

But, hey, I've been using Sonar/CW since '96 or so, so maybe I'm not the one to ask.