Quantcast
3000 or 5000 Pa*s/m2 for 50-60 cm bass traps? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
3000 or 5000 Pa*s/m2 for 50-60 cm bass traps?
Old 5th March 2014
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
3000 or 5000 Pa*s/m2 for 50-60 cm bass traps?

Hello

I need 50 or 60 cm deep bass traps (rectangular parallelepiped traps flush to walls, not triangular-base corner traps) for the rear and front walls of a small room.
I can choose between 3000 and 5000 Pa*s/m2 absorbents.

For 50 cm, at 0° incidence, the calculators show that 3000 Pa*s/m2 is quite better above ~40 Hz and slightly worse below. Above 60°, 5000 Pa*s/m2 is better for all frequencies.
For 60 cm the situation is similar, though with different frequency and angle values.

Which flow resistivity should I use? [to be honest I guess it's nearly the same, but I'm not a pro]

On the Internet I could not find examples of bass traps using 3000 Pa*s/m2 absorbent, while 5000 Pa*s/m2 is common, probably because of material availability.
Is there any specific reason to avoid 3000 Pa*s/m2 for 50-60 cm traps?

Cheers
Julien
Old 6th March 2014
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
I did some additional research still without finding a definitive answer. I hope I am not taking it too seriously, maybe it's just same-same in practice (?)

These bass traps need to be broadband and work as good as possible for low frequency absorption. In this rectangular room the lowest mode related to length is about 37 Hz. As far as I understand this wave has a normal incidence angle to the rear and front walls.
Here is a simulation of 500 mm porous absorbent flush to wall, 0° incidence angle (represents normal incidence), comparing 3 kPa.s/m2 and 5 kPa.s/m2:
http://www.acousticmodelling.com/mli...1=500&v21=5000
37 Hz is better absorbed by 5 kPa.s/m2, but not so much; above 40 Hz, 5 kPa.s/m2 is worse. Which is why I think 3 kPa.s/m2 is better, but I am not sure in practice.

As a reference, same with 30° and 66° incidence angles: