Quantcast
Money Growing on Trees? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Money Growing on Trees?
Old 9th February 2009
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
Money Growing on Trees?

(I’m new to the form, so please skip the first paragraph if you wish… it’s just a get to know me anyway…)

I am planning on spending a lot of money on acoustical treatment for my new recording studio. To this point I was the “gear junkie,” as Ethan likes to call us, and I spent all of my money on buying the next piece of gear and completely ignoring the fact that $2,000 in acoustical treatment can end up making more of a difference than $20,000 in new gear. The space hasn’t been built yet, but it’s about to go under construction. I am spending most of my money on absorption for bass, some on midrange absorption, and therefore don’t have money left for diffusion. Of course one day I plan on buying “real” diffusers, but for now one of my friends has QUITE the obscure idea.
A friend of mine made multiple diffusers out of a 2 X 2 plywood backing (1/2 inch), and then took tree branches, anywhere from 1 to 2 inches in diameter, cut them “flat” on one side and randomly angled on the other, had lengths ranging anywhere from ½ inch to 3 inches, and then spaced them randomly with gorilla glue (flat side down)on the plywood creating a “city skyline” look. He said that he used different types of branches in order to have different densities within each diffuser to have it affect many different frequencies and not resonate sympathetically to only a certain range. Would this really work, at least for now?

I know it would not compare at all to a professional diffuser done with mathematical equations and precise measurements, but I guess my question is… will it at least help as opposed to a flat wall? Better than a bookshelf?

Cory
Old 9th February 2009
Gear Guru

🎧 15 years
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by cojo67 ➡️
will it at least help as opposed to a flat wall? Better than a bookshelf?