The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Logic X (and 9) automation completely broken
Old 22nd July 2013
Lives for gear

2 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
Logic X (and 9) automation completely broken

Well I'm sad to say that this is enough that it's just about killing the entire mixing experience for me.

It depends on a few factors and even the plugin used. This topic is to collect information in once place, provide work arounds and examples from all affected.

We should collect all the info and then send it to apple. Basically, without proper automation timing, it ruins the entire process of mixing. How apple can not see this I do not understand. We have to band together and push them to fix this.

Now before we go further, of course sample accurate automation for all scenarios is selected in the options. I am also a logic veteran since 1996, 17 years, and know it pretty much back to front.

I always had some audible issues but i just never even expected it to be automation related, i just wrongly presumed all these years that automation was spot on. I can't believe i never thought to do these tests before.

1 ) First point. Volume automation. This is pretty responsive. The correct setting after experimenting for hours yesterday is -9 ticks. This is for your snap offset. For example, if you have something starting at bar 3 precisely, the point of automation should be at 2-4-4-232
I have tested this for plugins as well as the basic in built track automation