Video Sync, How Important? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Video Sync, How Important?
Old 23rd August 2009
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
Question Video Sync, How Important?

I have an Isochrone OCX as my master clock for my multitrack setup, would positional reference be enough (LTC)? Or, would you grab sync from the video decks.

I kinda wish I would have bought the OCX-V. :(
Old 23rd August 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
if you aren't getting black burst sync or master clock from the video master along with their LTC, you are eventually screwed. Do it properly during the recording and eliminate future problems in post. Maybe you won't be dealing with it, but the folks who do will also be cursing you and the producers will remember you in an unkind manner especially if you try to bid their next job.
Old 23rd August 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
yeah, i was just reading about the possibility of rigs going out of record if the clock isnt stable enough. looks like i am going to have to spend $2000 on another clock.
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
If you aim to do this professionally, you need videoref.. You'll survive without it, chances are noone in post will notice the lack of it (they'll lay back audio per song most likely, so no real chance of drift).. But I personally would never ever not sync to video, as i'm a professional and want to keep having work for the next 15 years
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
do you guys think the big ben would do it? it looks like it has video sync in. its quite a bit cheaper than the isochrone ocx v.
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years